Skip to Getting Started
Skip to Databases A to Z
Skip to Databases by Subject
Skip to Citing Articles

Articles & Databases

Getting Started
Databases A-Z
Databases by Subject
Send comments and suggestions about this page to: Information Services
Last Updated: September 9, 2013

The Library, Humboldt State University, One Harpst St., Arcata, California  95521-8299
Telephone:  707-826-3431    Fax: 707-826-3440

Getting Started:

I need to find the best database(s) to use for my topic.

I know the database I want.

I need to find a few good articles on my topic.

I need to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on my topic.

I need to find out if the Library has a specific journal.

I need to use databases from home.

 

I need to find the best database(s) to use for my topic.

Databases by Subject lists recommended databases for most curricular areas taught at HSU.

I know the database I want.

Databases A-Z lists by title all databases available through the HSU Library.

I need to find a few good articles on my topic.

Academic Search Premier and OmniFile Full Text Mega are two databases that index important journals covering all topics. QuickSearch Articles+ will search both of these databases simultaneously.

I need to find scholarly peer-reviewed articles on my topic.

You have several choices. Academic Search Premier and OmniFile Full Text Mega both include options to limit to scholarly, peer-reviewed publications. QuickSearch Articles+ search results include a note at the article level if the journal in which an article appears is peer-reviewed. Each database listed in Articles & Databases includes a note on the extent of peer-reviewed publications indexed in the database and how to search for them. For background information see Begin Your Research: Find Articles.

I need to find out if the Library has a specific journal.

The Journal and Newspaper Finder lists all print and fulltext journals, magazines, newspapers, and other serials that are available through the HSU Library, along with dates of coverage. Search by title and keyword. You can also find out what journals are available by broad subject category. If you have a specific article citation you can use the Citation Linker to find out fulltext availability.

I need to use databases from home.

All databases are available off-campus to HSU students, faculty and staff by logging in to myHumboldt. Open Access Databases (designated with Open Access) are unrestricted databases available to all users.